Tasmania Public Holidays 2018

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayMonday, January 1 2018PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, January 10 2018Regional Devenport
Australia DayFriday, January 26 2018PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, February 12 2018Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup***Wednesday, February 28 2018Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 6 March 2018Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, March 12 2018PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, March 30 2018PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, April 2 2018PublicTAS Wide
Easter TuesdayTuesday, April 3 2018PublicTAS Wide
Anzac DayWednesday, April 25 2018PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 4 May 2018Regional Circular Head
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, June 11 2018PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 5 October 2018Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 11 October 2018Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 19 October 2018Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 25 October 2018Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 5 November 2018Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 30 November 2018Regional Devonport
Christmas DayTuesday, 25 December 2018PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayWednesday, 26 December 2018PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.