Tasmania Public Holidays

Public holiday information for Tasmania (Tas) and Hobart residents and visitors.

Tasmania Public Holidays 2024

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s Day HolidayMonday, 2 January 2023PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 11 January 2023Regional Devonport
Australia DayThursday, 26 January 2023PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 13 February 2023Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup (Public Service)***Wednesday, 22 February 2023Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 7 March 2023Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 13 March 2023PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 7 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 10 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
Easter Tuesday (Public Service)Tuesday, 11 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
ANZAC DayTuesday, 25 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 5 May 2023Regional Circular Head
King’s BirthdayMonday, 12 June 2023PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 6 October 2023Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 12 October 2023Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 20 October 2023Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 26 October 2023Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 6 November 2023Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 1 December 2023Regional Devonport
Christmas DayMonday, 25 December 2023PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayTuesday, 26 December 2023PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

The Queen’s Birthday public holiday has been replaced by the King’s Birthday public holiday.

Additional Information

In Tasmania, Public Holidays can basically be divided into two groups:

  • Public Holidays – State wide
  • Local regional / event holidays

Public Holidays – State Wide

These are the holidays that we all know and love such as Australia Day, ANZAC Day, Queen’s Birthday, Labour Day and so on. These holidays are generally held on the same day throughout NSW. “Eight Hours Day” is a state wide holiday that is unique to Tasmania, commemorating the introduction of the 8 hour working day in Australia.

Local Regional / Event Holidays

Tasmania, like many other states in Australia, has a number of local public holidays that celebrate specific local events or that hold special significance. Holidays are held for local shows, racing cup days or other reasons.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.