Tasmania Public Holidays 2025

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayWednesday, 1 January 2025PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 8 January 2025Regional Devonport
Australia DaySunday, 26 January 2025PublicTAS Wide
Australia Day (Additional Day)Monday, 27 January 2025PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 10 February 2025Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup (Public Service)Wednesday, 26 February 2025Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 4 March 2025Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 10 March 2025PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 18 April 2025PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 21 April 2025PublicTAS Wide
Easter Tuesday (Public Service)Tuesday, 22 April 2025PublicTAS Wide
ANZAC DayFriday, 25 April 2025PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 2 May 2025Regional Circular Head
King’s BirthdayMonday, 9 June 2025PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 3 October 2025Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 9 October 2025Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 17 October 2025Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 23 October 2025Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 3 November 2025Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 28 November 2025Regional Devonport
Christmas DayThursday, 25 December 2025PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayFriday, 26 December 2025PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

The Queen’s Birthday public holiday has been replaced by the King’s Birthday public holiday.

In 2025, Australia Day falls on Sunday, 26 January. As a result there is an additional day’s holiday on Monday, 27 January 2025.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.