Tasmania Public Holidays 2026

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayThursday, 1 January 2026PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 7 January 2026Regional Devonport
Australia DayMonday, 26 January 2026PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 9 February 2026Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup (Public Service)Wednesday, 25 February 2026Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 3 March 2026Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 9 March 2026PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 3 April 2026PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 6 April 2026PublicTAS Wide
Easter Tuesday (Public Service)Tuesday, 7 April 2026PublicTAS Wide
ANZAC DaySaturday, 25 April 2026PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 8 May 2026Regional Circular Head
King’s BirthdayMonday, 8 June 2026PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 2 October 2026Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 8 October 2026Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 16 October 2026Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 22 October 2026Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 2 November 2026Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 27 November 2026Regional Devonport
Christmas DayFriday, 25 December 2026PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DaySaturday, 26 December 2026PublicTAS Wide
Boxing Day Additional HolidayMonday, 28 December 2026PublicTAS Wide


In 2026, Boxing Day falls on a Saturday. As a result, there is an additional public holiday on Monday, 28 December 2026.

In 2026, ANZAC Day falls on a Saturday. In Tasmania, there is no additional public holiday for ANZAC Day when it falls on a weekend.

*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

The Queen’s Birthday public holiday has been replaced by the King’s Birthday public holiday.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.