Tasmania Public Holidays 2023

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s Day HolidayMonday, 2 January 2023PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 11 January 2023Regional Devonport
Australia DayThursday, 26 January 2023PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 13 February 2023Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup (Public Service)***Wednesday, 22 February 2023Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 7 March 2023Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 13 March 2023PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 7 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 10 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
Easter Tuesday (Public Service)Tuesday, 11 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
ANZAC DayTuesday, 25 April 2023PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 5 May 2023Regional Circular Head
King’s BirthdayMonday, 12 June 2023PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 6 October 2023Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 12 October 2023Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 20 October 2023Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 26 October 2023Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 6 November 2023Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 1 December 2023Regional Devonport
Christmas DayMonday, 25 December 2023PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayTuesday, 26 December 2023PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

The Queen’s Birthday public holiday has been replaced by the King’s Birthday public holiday.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.