Tasmania Public Holidays 2021

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayFriday, 1 January 2021PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 6 January 2021Regional Davenport
Australia DayTuesday, 26 January 2021PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 8 February 2021Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup (Public Service)***Wednesday, 24 February 2021Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 2 March 2021Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 8 March 2021PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 2 April 2021PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 5 April 2021PublicTAS Wide
Easter Tuesday (Public Service)Tuesday, 6 April 2021PublicTAS Wide
ANZAC DaySunday, 25 April 2021PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 7 May 2021Regional Circular Head
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 14 June 2021PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 1 October 2021Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 7 October 2021Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 15 October 2021Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 21 October 2021Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 1 November 2021Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 26 November 2021Regional Devonport
Christmas DaySaturday, 25 December 2021PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DaySunday, 26 December 2021PublicTAS Wide
Christmas Day Public HolidayMonday, 27 December 2021PublicTAS Wide
Boxing Day Public HolidayTuesday, 28 December 2021PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

In 2021, Christmas Day and Boxing Day fall on a weekend. As a result there is an additional holiday on Monday, 27 December 2021 and Tuesday, 28 December 2021.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.