Tasmania Public Holidays 2019

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayTuesday, 1 January 2019PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 9 January 2019Regional Davenport
Australia DaySaturday, 26 January 2019PublicTAS Wide
Australia Day Holiday****Monday, 28 January 2019PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 11 February 2019Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup***Wednesday, 27 February 2019Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 5 March 2019Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 11 March 2019PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 19 April 2019PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 22 April 2019PublicTAS Wide
Easter TuesdayTuesday, 23 April 2019PublicTAS Wide
Anzac DayThursday, 25 April 2019PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 3 May 2019Regional Circular Head
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 10 June 2019PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowFriday, 4 October 2019Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 10 October 2019Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 18 October 2019Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 24 October 2019Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 4 November 2019Regional Northern Tasmania (except Oatlands and Swansea)
Devonport ShowFriday, 29 November 2019Regional Devonport
Christmas DayWednesday, 25 December 2019PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayThursday, 26 December 2019PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

****In 2019 Australia Day falls on a Saturday. As a result there is an additional holiday on Monday, 28 January 2019.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.