Tasmania Public Holidays 2016

HolidayDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayFriday, 1 January 2016PublicTAS Wide
Devonport Cup***Wednesday, 6 January 2016Regional Davenport
Australia DayTuesday, 26 January 2016PublicTAS Wide
Royal Hobart Regatta*Monday, 8 February 2016Regional Hobart
Launceston Cup***Wednesday, 24 February 2016Regional Launceston
King Island ShowTuesday, 1 March 2016Regional King Island
Eight Hours DayMonday, 14 March 2016PublicTAS Wide
Good FridayFriday, 25 March 2016PublicTAS Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 28 March 2016PublicTAS Wide
Easter TuesdayTuesday, 29 March 2016PublicTAS Wide
Anzac DayMonday, 25 April 2016PublicTAS Wide
AGFESTFriday, 6 May 2016Regional Circular Head
Queen’s BirthdayMonday, 13 June 2016PublicTAS Wide
Burnie ShowTuesday, 30 August 2016Regional Burnie
Royal Launceston ShowThursday, 6 October 2016Regional Launceston
Flinders Island ShowFriday, 14 October 2016Regional Flinders Island
Royal Hobart ShowThursday, 20 October 2016Regional Hobart
Recreation Day**Monday, 7 November 2016Regional Launceston
Devonport ShowFriday, 25 November 2016Regional Devonport
Christmas DaySunday, 25 December 2016PublicTAS Wide
Boxing DayMonday, 26 December 2016PublicTAS Wide
Christmas Day Additional HolidayTuesday, 27 December 2016PublicTAS Wide


*Royal Hobart Regatta Public Holiday is observed in regions south of & including Oatlands and Swansea excluding Bronte Park, Catagunya, Strathgordon, Tarraleah, Wayatinah & West Coast.

**Recreation Day is observed by all areas in Northern Tasmania excluding Oatlands & Swansea. Recreation Day is intended to offset Royal Hobart Regatta Day which is observed in Hobart.

***Devonport Cup Public Holiday is observed from 11.00 a.m. in the municipal area of Devonport – generally State Public Service only. Launceston Cup Public Holiday is generally for Public Service only. All Day – Municipal areas of Break O’Day, Dorset, George Town, Glamorgan-Spring Bay (north of and including Cranbrook), Launceston excluding Launceston City centre and suburbs specified below, Meander Valley excluding suburbs and townships specified below, Northern Midlands, Southern Midlands north of but not including Oatlands, West Tamar excluding townships specified below. From 11.00 a.m. – Launceston City centre and the following suburbs and townships Alanvale, Blackstone Heights, East Launceston, Elphin, Franklin Village, Glen Dhu, Inveresk, Invermay, Killafaddy, Kings Meadows, Mayfield, Mowbray, Mowbray Heights, Newnham, Newstead, North Riverside, Norwood, Prospect, Prospect Vale, Punchbowl, Ravenswood, Riverside, Rocherlea, St Leonards, Sandhill, South Launceston, Summerhill, Trevallyn, Vermont, Waverley, West Launceston, West Riverside, Youngtown.

Information presented is from Tasmania Government sources.